Maverick City and Kirk Franklin

Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin to Release “Kingdom Book 1”

Maverick City Music only just won their first Grammy award earlier this year. The music group is not sitting on their oars and is about to release a new album with gospel music legend Kirk Franklin. Sixteen-time Grammy winner will be working with the music group to release “Kingdom Book 1” on June 17, 2022.

The album will be released via Tribl records, RCA Inspiration, and Fo Yo Soul Entertainment. It takes the idea of prison ministry and performance to a different level. This eleven-track project was done in a Florida prison with the voices of about 1,300 inmates. 

More About Kingdom Book 1

Kingdom Book 1
                                Maverick City
                      Source: CCM Magazine

Kirk and Maverick City Music are joined by different men from several backgrounds, gangs, and races. The album stems from a clear message of love and acceptance. It has grown into a powerful and passionate movement that is the embodiment of inspiration to people from all walks of life. 

Jonathan Jay of Maverick City says, “I think this album is for every fan that loves music, and our hope is that these songs and the stories behind them will serve as a way to raise awareness to the challenges that people face every day – many of which are forgotten about.” He went further to say, “For me, the most impactful part of this experience was the prisoners’ reaction to simply being remembered as humans. It was an overwhelming sense of gratitude and excitement that carried through every day we spent with these men. It was unbelievable, and I think if more people would just become aware of these feelings, they would want to help find a solution for the issues that come with incarceration.”

                        Kirk Franklin

Another member of Maverick City, Tony Brown, spoke about the project. He explained, “We want awareness around the topics that affect the community that we represent, as black and brown people, primarily. It’s important that we’re able to not just share our songs, but also share the heart and the lives that these songs are coming from. Most of us, in some way, have been impacted by these issues, and as we mature as artists, the things that matter to us the most need to take precedence. This is one of them.”

Kingdom Book 1 Tracklist

Below is the list of tracks on the new album by Maverick City Music and Kirk Franklin:

  • Kingdom – Feat. Naomi Raine, Chandler Moore
  • Fear Is Not My Future – Feat. Brandon Lake, Chandler Moore
  • Bless Me
  • Jealous – Feat. Chandler Moore, Lizzie Morgan
  • Talkin Bout (Love) – Feat. Chandler Moore, Lizzie Morgan
  • The One You Love – Feat. Brandon Lake, Dante Bowe, Chandler Moore
  • My Life Is In Your Hands – Feat. Chandler Moore
  • Melodies From Heaven – Feat. Chandler Moore, Maryanne George
  • I Smile – Feat. Lizzie Morgan
  • Why We Sing – Feat. Brandon Lake
  • Take Me Back – Feat. Dante Bowe, Chandler Moore, Ryan Ofei

Don’t forget to check out GodKulture for other exciting articles for a Christian creative.

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *